Everyone makes mistakes and sometimes a Mississippi driver makes the mistake of driving after they have been drinking. Unfortunately, law enforcement takes these crimes seriously and if a person is pulled over for drunk driving, they can face severe penalties if convicted. The following is a breakdown of the possible penalties a person may face if convicted for drunk driving.
A driver is considered legally drunk in Mississippi if their blood alcohol concentration is 0.08% or more. Commercial drivers are legally drunk when their blood alcohol concentration is 0.04% or higher and drivers under 21 are legally drunk when their blood alcohol content is 0.02% or greater.
First time offenders are subject to:
- Fines of up to $1,000
- Prison for up to 48 hours.
- Alcohol safety education program.
- Driver’s license suspension for up to 90 days.
- Ignition interlock device installed after 90 days suspension.
A driver who commits a second offense within five years of the first offense faces even more serious penalties which may include:
- Up to one year in prison.
- Fines of up to $1,500
- Community service
- Impoundment of all vehicles registered to offender
- Driver’s license suspension
- Ignition interlock device installed for one year
- In-depth alcohol use diagnostic assessment.
A person who commits a third DUI within five years can face the following penalties:
- Prison of up to 5 years
- Fines of up to $5,000
- Forfeited vehicle
- Two years license suspension
- Three-year ignition interlock period
- In-depth diagnostic assessment.
Because the State of Mississippi takes drunk driving so seriously, those who are facing a drunk driving charge may want to speak with an attorney who specializes in criminal defense. An attorney can provide their client a strong defense to protect them against these charges and also protect their future.