Public perception about the use of marijuana is changing rapidly. In recent years, several states have legalized recreational use of cannabis products. Mississippi is not one of them. Although Mississippi does have a legal system for certain medicinal uses of cannabis products, recreational use of marijuana remains illegal.
People who sell marijuana can be charged for marijuana possession with intent to sell. Not surprisingly people who are convicted of selling marijuana can face more severe penalties than people who simply possess it for recreational purposes. People can face significant jail time, but the severity of the punishment depends on the amount in their possession when they are caught.
Potential penalties for possession with the intent to sell
- If they possess 30 grams or less, they could be sentenced up to three years in jail and/or have a fine of up to $3,000.
- If they possess between 30 grams and 250 grams, they could be sentenced to five years in jail and/or a fine up to $5,000.
- Possession of 250 grams to 500 grams could result in a minimum of three years in jail and up to ten years in jail as well as a fine of up to $15,000.
- Possession of 500 grams to one kilogram could result in a minimum of five years in jail and up to 20 years in jail as well as a fine up to $20,000.
These are significant penalties for convictions. However, people will only face these penalties if they are convicted. Being charged does not mean people are automatically guilty. There could be defenses available to them, starting with whether the police had a valid reason to stop and search them in the first place.
Many people are charged with marijuana offenses in Mississippi each year. Everyone is innocent until proven guilty though. Experienced attorneys understand people’s rights and may be able to help protect them.